February 3, 2015

Language Students Win Entry into National Honor Societies, Awards

President A. Scott

President Scott makes opening remarks at the ceremony

On Friday, April 25, 2014, the Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures held our Departmental Honors Ceremony, at which we inducted students into language societies and announced the recipients of scholarships and winners of departmental awards. President Robert Scott and Arts and Sciences Dean Sam L Grogg were among those present, along with Associate Deans Susan Briziarelli, Ruth McShane and Gary Schechter. We were also delighted to have with us three benefactors of generous scholarships for our students: Mr. Patrick Smalley, alumnus and trustee; Mr. Robert Hartmann, alumnus; and Professor David Prottas.

The following students were inducted into honor societies:

Italian Honor Society, Gamma Kappa Alpha: Trustee Patrick Smalley, Dean Susan Briziarelli, Francesca Giambalvo, Marlena Oppedisano (inducted by Prof. Hiller)

Spanish Honor Society, Sigma Delta Pi: Brenda Avila, Matthew Bracco Lauren Braun, Jacqueline Galdamez, Kristine Gavilanes, Shirley Joseph, Iliana Martinez, Valeria Mendoza, Dina Ramalehete, Samantha Upshaw. (inducted by Profs. Amador, Carbo & Villamil-Acera)

Scholarships were awarded to the following outstanding students:

Smalley Fellowship in Italian Studies: Marlena Oppedisano

Mary Louise Vazquez Award in French: Collin Savage

The Robert Hartmann Scholarship for Excellence in Spanish: Diana Arichabala

Ted and Erika Spyropoulus Scholarships for Modern Greek: Lauren Biazzo, Nicholas Haas, Danaleah Schoenfuss

Student inductees

Student Inductees of Gamma Kappa Alpha with Prof. Hiller

We were also delighted to present awards to several outstanding students:

Ruth Richardson Awards for Excellence in Spanish: Brenda Avila, Matthew Bracco, Lauren Braun, Jacqueline Galdamez, Kristine Gavlanes, Rebecca Krieger, Junior Leyba-Corporan, Valeria Mendoza, Justin Narkin, Nicole Osterhoudt, Dina Ramalehete, Samantha Upshaw.

Dolores Roethel Awards in Spanish Literature: Junior Leyba-Corporan, Rebecca Krieger.

Prottas French Writing Contest: 1st: Sarah O’Connor; 2nd: Nicholas Harth; 3rd: Anthony Clemente

Prottas Spanish Writing Contest: 1st: Justin Narkin; 2nd: Leela Riquelme; 3rd: Jenny Turcio & Diana Arichabala

We continued a tradition with another vocal performance at the ceremony by our own Professor Hiller on the piano. This year, we heard Schubert’s “Morgengruß” in German!

More Adelphi News

About Adelphi: A modern metropolitan university with a personalized approach to higher learning.

Adelphi University, New York, is a highly awarded, nationally ranked, powerfully connected doctoral research university dedicated to transforming students’ lives through small classes with world-class faculty, hands-on learning and innovative ways to support academic and career success. Adelphi offers exceptional liberal arts and sciences programs and professional training, with particular strength in our Core Four—Arts and Humanities, STEM and Social Sciences, the Business and Education Professions, and Health and Wellness.

Recognized as a Best College by U.S. News & World Report, Adelphi is Long Island’s oldest private coeducational university. It serves more than 8,100 students at its beautiful main campus in Garden City, New York—just 23 miles from New York City’s cultural and internship opportunities—and at dynamic learning hubs in Manhattan, the Hudson Valley and Suffolk County, as well as online.

More than 115,000 Adelphi graduates have gained the skills to thrive professionally as active, engaged citizens, making their mark on the University, their communities and the world.

Apply Now
Request Information